OPUS 12 Foundation, Inc.

OPUS 12 Foundation
  • OPUS 12 Foundation is dedicated to medical research, scientific review, and educational activities.
  • OPUS 12 areas of research interest include burns, critical care, emergency medicine, surgery, traumatology, wound care and related medical-surgical-anesthesia fields. Treatment-related complications and patient safety are also important to our foundation.
  • We publish our research internationally in order to reach scientific and public audiences around the globe. Our publications include OPUS 12 Scientist, our online journal as well as a number of Internet Wikis dedicated to topics related to OPUS 12 Foundation's mission. OPUS 12 Foundation is also an official supporter of two major International publications:
  • OPUS 12 Foundation recognizes that being a physician entails a leadership role, and we plan to sponsor multi-disciplinary activities and discussion panels that incorporate physicians, scientists, and other professionals to discuss major issues and crises facing our society and our world.
  • OPUS 12 Foundation sponsors a number of Expert Groups:
 Acute Care Surgery Expert Group
 Cardiac Critical Care Expert Group
 International Clinical Sonography Expert Group
 International Patient Safety Expert Group
 Military & Disaster Medicine Expert Group
 Pain & Palliative Care Expert Group

  • Finally, recognizing that our role as leaders is not complete without leaving an educational legacy to those who follow in our footsteps, we develop and implement medical education, review programs, and other scholarly activities.


OPUS 12 Board of Directors (Listed Alphabetically)
  • Dr John Chovanes - OPUS 12 Founding Member, Philadelphia, PA, USA.
  • Dr James Cipolla - Current OPUS 12 President, Bethlehem, PA, USA.
  • Dr Anthony DippolitoOPUS 12 Founding Member, Bethlehem, PA, USA.
  • Dr Vijay A. Doraiswamy - OPUS 12 Director of Internet Publications, Tucson, AZ, USA.
  • Dr Sagar Galwankar - Executive Editor, J Emerg Trauma Shock (JETS); Editor-in-Chief, Int J Crit Illn Inj Sci (IJCIIS); and Chief Academic Officer of INDO-US Emergency & Trauma Collaborative. Permanent INDO-US Emergency and Trauma Collaborative Representative to OPUS 12 Board of Directors.
  • Dr Oliver L. Gunter Jr. - Current Chair, Member of Leadership Council, Acute Care Surgery Expert Group, Nashville, TN, USA
  • Dr Brian A. HoeyOPUS 12 Founding Member, General Surgery Residency Program Director, St. Luke's/Temple Medical School, Bethlehem, PA, USA.
  • Dr Jay JenoffOPUS 12 Founding Member, Thomas Jefferson University School of Medicine, Philadelphia, PA, USA.
  • Dr Gary Lombardo - OPUS 12 Founding Member, Westchester Medical Center, Valhalla, NY, USA.
  • Dr John J. Lukaszczyk - St. Luke's Hospital and Health Network, Bethlehem, PA, USA.
  • Dr Niels D. MartinOPUS 12 Founding Member, Co-Director, Surgical Intensive Care Unit, Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, PA, USA.
  • Dr Thomas J. Papadimos - Vice-Chair, Department of Anesthesiology and Director of Cardiac Surgical ICU, The Ohio State University Medical Center, Columbus, OH, USA.
  • Dr Sherwin P. Schrag - OPUS 12 Founding Member, Director of Surgical Education, Liberty Health/Jersey City Medical Center, NJ, USA.
  • Dr Babak Sarani - Chief of Trauma and Acute Care Surgery, George Washington University, Washington, DC, USA.
  • Dr Mark J. SeamonOPUS 12 Founding Member, Associate Trauma Director, Cooper University Hospital, Camden, NJ, USA.
  • Dr S. Peter Stawicki - Research Director, Division of Critical Care, Trauma, and Burns, Dept of Surgery, The Ohio State University, Columbus, OH, USA.
  • Dr Melissa L. Whitmill - Surgical Intensive Care Unit and Surgical Critical Care Fellowship Director, Miami Valley Hospital / Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine, Dayton, OH, USA. 
Honorary Members of the Board (Listed Alphabetically)
  • Dr Harry L. Anderson III (2009) - Director of Trauma and Surgical Critical Care, St. Joseph Mercy Hospital, Ann Arbor, MI, USA
  • Dr Charles H, Cook (2009) - Director of Surgical Intensive Care Unit, Director of Surgical Critical Care Fellowship, The Ohio State University, Columbus, OH, USA
  • Dr Anthony J. Dean (2007) - OPUS 12 Chief Science Officer. Director of Emergency Medicine Ultrasound and Fellowship in Emergency Ultrasound, University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine, Philadelphia, PA, USA
  • Dr Vicente H. Gracias (2007) - Professor of Surgery, Chief of Trauma and Surgical Critical Care, Robert Wood Johnson-UMDNJ, New Brunswick, NJ, USA
  • Dr Michael D. Grossman (2008) - Division Chief, Trauma and Surgical Critical Care, North Shore Long Island Jewish Medical Group, New York, NY, USA
  • Dr Gabriel M. Gurman (2008) - Professor of Anesthesiology and Critical Care, Associate Dean, Ben Gurion University of the Negev Faculty of Health Sciences, Beer Sheva, Israel
  • Dr Larry Melniker (2010) - Department of Emergency Medicine, New York Methodist Hospital, Bronx, NY, USA
  • Dr Michael L. Nance (2007) - Josephine J. and John M. Templeton, Jr. Chair in Pediatric Trauma, The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA, USA
  • Dr Steven M. Steinberg (2008) - Vice-Chair for Clinical Affairs, Division Chief of Traum, Critical Care, and Burn, The Ohio State University, Columbus, OH, USA 
In Memoriam
  • Major John P. Pryor, MD (1966-2008) - Dr Pryor was killed while serving in Iraq as a trauma surgeon in the United States Army Reserve Medical Corps. Dr Pryor also served as the Trauma Program Director and the Director of the Office of Life Support Education for the Division of Trauma at the University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine. He was a great family man, friend, colleague, researcher, and mentor. We will always remember Dr Pryor and celebrate his legacy and achievements.

OPUS 12 Research Department Directors

OPUS 12 Local Chapters

OPUS 12 Foundation Science Team

  • The OPUS 12 Foundation Core Research Team is currently composed of nearly 100 members in numerous local chapters worldwide
    • For more information on our research team, click here. Qualified OPUS 12 members may receive scientific rank within the Foundation.
    • OPUS 12 Foundation fosters collaborative, non-competitive and constructive research. We oppose the concept of 'basement scientist'. 
    • Our Global Research Coordinator is Ms Christy Stehly BS. Based at the St Luke's Temple Medical School, Bethlehem, Penna, Ms Stehly has extensive experience in coordinating complex, multi-institutional projects.
  • Our Research Team has an extensive cumulative research experience, with multiple publications in peer reviewed journals, numerous local, regional, national and international presentations, and many other publications (chapters, editorials, etc).
  • OPUS 12 Foundation has four scientific ranks, designed to foster the opportunity for Science Team member advancement: (a) OPUS 12 Principal Scientist (highest rank); (b) OPUS 12 Senior Scientist; (c) OPUS 12 Associate Scientist; and (d) OPUS 12 Assistant (Candidate) Scientist (entry rank). 
  • OPUS 12 Foundation is planning an expansion of the Science Team to include permanent bio-statistics and biomedical research protocol expert positions. Please click on the OPUS 12 Science Team link above for more information on our Science Team.
OPUS 12 Foundation Legal Team
  • Law Offices of James F. Carney, Esq.
    610 West Germantown Pike, Suite 400
    Plymouth Meeting, PA 19462
  • Phone (610) 940-3990; Fax (215) 643-4030; E-mail [carneyjf@aol.com]